To the attention of: International Olympic Committee European Olympic Committees Association of National Olympic Committees International Paralympic Committee European Paralympic Committees

Oslo, Norway, September 23, 2022

Statement from the Nordic Olympic Committees, Paralympic Committees and Sports Confederations on the escalating Russian aggression in Ukraine

The Nordic sport organisations have concluded the annual meeting in Oslo, Norway, September 22-23, 2022. Our organisations have decided upon the following statement below.

Statement from the Nordic Olympic Committees, Paralympic Committees, and Sports Confederations on the escalating Russian aggression in Ukraine

The Nordic Olympic Committees, Paralympic Committees and Sports Confederations find the Russian invasion of Ukraine to be a blatant breach of international law.

The Russian aggression in Ukraine is escalating. Under these circumstances, it will be unacceptable to open up for Russian and Belarusian international sports participation. We stand firmly in our position. Now is not the right time to consider their return.

We call upon the Olympic and Paralympic Movement and all international sports organisations to continue to show solidarity with the Ukrainian people and the demand for peace. We give our full support to the recommendations of no participation of all Russian and Belarusian athletes and officials in international sports.

This statement has been approved by the Presidents of the following organisations:

Denmark

Danish Olympic Committee and Confederation of Sports, Hans Natorp Danish Paralympic Committee, John Petersson

Finland

Finnish Olympic Committee, Jan Vapaavuori Finnish Paralympic Committee, Sari Rautio

Iceland

The National Olympic and Sports Association of Iceland, Lárus Blöndal The National Paralympic Committee of Iceland, Thordur Arni Hjaltested

Norway

Norwegian Olympic and Paralympic Committee and Confederation of Sports, Berit Kjøll

Sweden

Swedish Olympic Committee, Mats Årjes Swedish Confederation of Sports, Björn Eriksson Swedish Paralympic Committee, Åsa Llinares Norlin

Greenland

The Sports Confederation of Greenland, Nuka Kleemann

Faroe Islands

Faroese Confederation of Sports and Olympic Committee, Elin Heðinsdóttir Faroe Islands Paralympic Committee, Petur Elias Petersen

Åland

Åland Islands Sports Federation, Anders Ingves